The Village of Kewaskum, Wisconsin was incorporated in 1895 and is named for a Potawatomi Chief who lived in Dodge, Jefferson, and Washington Counties around 1830 – 1870.
This initial selection of photos showcases some of the businesses and public places in the early days of the Village. Prominent family names from the time include the Rosenheimers, who ran the general store, malt house, and Kewaskum Aluminum; the Millers, who ran the funeral home and furniture store; and the Remmels, who had one of the early manufacturing plants in town. Most of the businesses shown in these photos are now gone, although Kewaskum Aluminum eventually became international corporation Regalware, whose headquarters are still in the village. Miller’s Furniture is also still around, run by a new generation of Millers.
The photos in this collection form part of a large digital archive of over 300 pictures covering Kewaskum history from the 1890s to the 1970s. The Kewaskum photo archive is a project of the Kewaskum Public Library and the Kewaskum Historical Society.